Italy travel guide


:: Italy » Italy Destinations » Venice Travel Guide » City of Venice

Venice Travel Guide

City of Venice

Venice, an Italian city, is the capital of the Veneto region, which is the eighth region in size in this country. Called "the city of canals", Venice is located northeast of Italy and it extends over a marshy lagoon, in the Adriatic Sea, to the mouth of two rivers, the Piave River to the north and the Po River to the south.

Venice colonization dates back to the middle Ages, in the 5th century, when inhabitants came to the marshy islands to escape the Barbarian invasion(Mongols and Lombards), over time these islands surrounded by water started to take the shape of the city, thus, making Venice the only city of its kind in the world. In 1866, after the third war for independence, Venice became part of Italy.

Venice is built on 120 islands that are joined by about 455 bridges. Indeed, Venice City is shaped by 118 islands linked by 354 bridges and divided by 117 canals. The city was made of 6 districts, which are: San Marco, Canareggio, Santa Croce, Castella, Dorsoduro and San Polo. Grand Canal delimits the six main neighborhoods. The city has three port mouths Cióxa, Malamoco and Lido.

San Marcos square can be considered the city centre of Venice; this is where you find most things. The square is lined up by famous buildings like the Basilica of San Marcos, the Palazzo Ducale, the brick Campanile and Clock Tower.

Venice Travel Guide
Venice Travel Guide

About us | Contact us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Legal Terms

© 2005 - 2019 - All rights reserved